News & Events

2022-23 Events and Speakers

Alia Wulff | Arizona State University
The Stressed Eyewitness: Downstream Consequences of Stress on Eyewitness Memory Accuracy
Friday October 28th 2022 | 3:00PM | BCLS 650

Lesley Zannella | Arizona State University
Public Perceptions of Exonerees and Willingness to Support their Reintegration
Friday November 4th 2022 | 3:00PM

Cortney Simmons | Yale University
Antisocial behavior in adolescence: separating myth from science
Friday November 18th 2022 | 3:00PM

Mikaela Spruill | Cornell University
Legal Inequity in Context: Theoretical and Empirical Insights into our Judgments and Decisions
Friday December 2nd 2022 | 3:00PM

Dan Simon | University of Southern California
Friday January 27 2023 | 3:00PM

Rick Trinkner | Arizona State University
Friday February 3rd 2023 | 3:00PM

Bobbie Spellman | University of Virginia
Friday February 10th 2023 | 3:00PM

Sam Sommers | Tufts University
Wednesday March 22 2023 | 12:00PM

Hal Arkes | Ohio State University
Friday April 14th 2023 | 3:00PM

Past Events

2021-2022 Speaker Series
Margaret Bull Kovera (John Jay CUNY) | Monica Miller (University of Nevada-Reno)

2020 Law and Behavioral Science Meeting
January 3, 2020 | ASU California Center | Santa Monica, CA

2019 Speaker Series
Tess Neal (ASU) | Kristy Martire (UNSW) | Stephanie Madon (Iowa State) | Max Guyll (Iowa State) | Bethany Growns (ASU)

2018-2019 Speaker Series
Adam Fine (ASU) | Eric Hehman (McGill) | Carly Giffin (ASU) | Janice Nadler (Northwestern) | Tom Tyler (Yale) | Brian Bornstein (UNL / NSF)


Recent News

Adam Fine receives NSF CAREER award to support his work on justice-involved youth

Tess Neal awarded the Samuel and Anne Beck Early Career Award from the Society for Personality Assessment

We are extremely proud to welcome Drs. Stephanie Madon, Max Guyll, and Karey O'Hara to our faculty!

ASU awarded $1.4M to house the National Science Foundation Law & Science Dissertation Grant program.

Law and Behavioral Science Initiative wins 2020 President's Award for Innovation

New research from Karey O'Hara on partner contact and stress after divorce appears in Clinical Psychological Science.

Tess Neal named Outstanding Faculty Mentor by the ASU Graduate College

Psychological Assessment in Legal Contexts: Are Courts Keeping “Junk Science” Out of the Courtroom? Read the paper or watch the AAAS Press Briefing of this major project led by Tess Neal

We are happy to welcome three new faculty members: Laura Smalarz, Karey O'Hara, and Alissa Knowles

PhD student Emily Denne awarded a 2019 NSF Graduate Research Fellowship

Tess Neal writes on the history and relation of Forensic Psychology and Correctional Psychology in American Psychologist

Jessica Salerno named 2018 Rising Star by the Association for Psychological Science

Michael Saks was selected as the 2017 recipient of the Award for Distinguished Contributions to Law and Psychology from the American Psychology-Law Society.

Jessica Salerno was selected as the 2017 recipient of the Saleem Shaw Early Career Award from the American Psychology-Law Society and American Academy of Forensic Psychology.

Hank Fradella was selected as the 2017 recipient of the Richard Tewksbury Award from the Western Society of Criminology. This award represents outstanding scholarly contributions to and activism on the intersection of crime, justice, sex, and sexuality.

Tess Neal was distinguished as a 2016 Rising Star by the Association for Psychological Science.