Program on Law and Behavioral Science

Jose Ashford
Professor
School of Social Work
jose.ashford@asu.edu


Current Research: Forensic and correctional mental health; criminal justice diversion & sentencing alternatives; managing and treating violence risks; community prosecution; procedural justice; death-penalty mitigation
Linda Demaine
Professor
Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law
demaine@asu.edu


Current Research: deceptive advertising; undue influence; evolutionary theory of law; celebrity entertainers' participation in public policy
Ira Ellman
Charles J. Merriam Distinguished Professor
Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law
ira@asu.edu


Current Research: examining the factors, both substantive and methodological, that influence individual judgments about appropriate legal rules
Hank Fradella
Professor
School of Criminology and Criminal Justice
Hank.Fradella@asu.edu


Current Research: Judicial use, acceptability, and understanding of forensic scientific and behavioral scientific evidence, especially with regard to the insanity defense. Mental health issues in correctional populations. The social psychology of media depictions of law and justice-related issues
Dustin Pardini
Associate Professor
School of Criminology and Criminal Justice
Dustin.Pardini@asu.edu


Current Research: Delineating the biopsychosocial factors underlying the development of criminal behavior and psychopathic personality from childhood to adulthood; evaluating the impact that early psychosocial interventions can have on these problems.
Tess Neal
Assistant Professor
School of Social and Behavioral Sciences
tneal6@asu.edu


Current Research: reasoning, inference, and decision making among forensic experts, jurors, and judges; effectiveness and validity of expert testimony; forensic and correctional psychology

Michael Saks
Regents' Professor
Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law & Department of Psychology
saks@asu.edu


Current Research: decision-making within the legal system, especially regarding the use of expert evidence of various kinds
Jessica Salerno
Assistant Professor
School of Social & Behavioral Sciences
jessica.salerno@asu.edu


Current Research: emotion, intergroup dynamics, and legal decision making; jury deliberation processes; evaluations of expert testimony
Nick Schweitzer
Program Director
Associate Professor
School of Social & Behavioral Sciences
njs@asu.edu


Current Research: scientific evidence; law, neuroscience, free willl, and punishment
Stacia Stolzenberg
Assistant Professor
School of Criminology and Criminal Justice
Stacia.Stolzenberg@asu.edu


Current Research: Children’s reports of maltreatment in legal settings, especially contemporary practices for interviewing children that simultaneously develop novel methods for increasing accurate reports without increasing false allegations
Rick Trinkner
Assistant Professor
School of Criminology and Criminal Justice
rick.trinkner@asu.edu


Current Research: Broadly speaking, my research seeks to understand why people follow rules and defer to authority and how regulatory agencies can best foster support from those they serve.